Featured Books

Reading with dyslexia can be fun - you just have to pick the right books!

Luckily, this is where we can help. Click on your age group (below), to discover the best new books out there for young readers with dyslexia. Whether you like funny fictions or scary stories, we're sure you'll find something you'll like.

And don't forget to check back every month. We're always updating this page with new books for you to try and share. 

So what are you waiting for? Go on - get reading!

The Invasion of Crooked Oak  by Dan Smith

Illustrated by Chris King

A totally creepy sci-fi adventure that will have you on the edge of your seat – perfect for fans of Stranger Things

Blurb: 

Something sinister is happening in Crooked Oak …

Ever since the fracking site closed, Nancy’s parents have been acting weird. Their eyes are blank, they won’t eat – it’s like they’re no longer themselves. And now the symptoms are affecting others as well … Nancy and her friends Pete and Krish are determined to find out what’s going on. But the deeper they dig, the scarier the mystery gets. A dark presence is spreading its tendrils across Crooked Oak. Can they stop it before it takes over the whole town?

Review:

“A high octane ecological thriller that would give The Day of the Triffids a run for its money” – The Letterpress Project

ISBN: 978-1-78112-920-3
Reading Age: 8
Interest Age: 8+

 

 

 

 

Just Another Little Lie  by Eve Ainsworth

Award-winning author Eve Ainsworth returns with a stark, honest and deeply moving new novella

Blurb: 

Violet’s mum hasn’t been herself for a while. A few too many glasses of wine in the evening. Mornings when she can’t get out of bed. Now Violet’s the one looking after her little brother and looking out for empty bottles in Mum’s bag. She wants to believe her mum when she promises that things are going to change, but is it just another little lie?

Review:

“Truly brilliant at capturing Violet’s conflicted feelings – an excruciating pull between love and anger – this compelling, moving story will engross fans of true-to-life fiction” – LoveReading4Kids

​​ISBN: 978-1-78112-911-1
Reading Age: 8
Interest Age: Teen